Scenic Byways

In 1991, the Federal Highway Administration established the National Scenic Byways Program to recognize routes throughout the country based on their archaeological, cultural, historic, natural, recreational, and scenic qualities. Maryland is home to 18 byways, 7 of which have earned this national distinction.
BridgeThrough the Maryland Scenic Byways Program, the Maryland Department of Transportation State Highway Administration (MDOT SHA) provides technical assistance for planning, interpretation, promotion, enhancement, and preservation projects along scenic byways. The program's mission is to enhance quality of life and community pride as well as to encourage the responsible management and preservation of the state's most significant roads and surrounding environs.
MDOT SHA's Scenic Byway program has partnered with local communities to develop Corridor Management Plans (CMPs) to outline ways to protect and enhance the byways.  CMPs are flexible documents designed to change with the community and typically address issues as tourism, historic preservation, environmental protection, roadway safety and economic development.  A CMP also makes a byway eligible for national byway designation..
Please see our Scenic Byways Program page for examples of completed CMPs, detailed information about the program .
Please click here if you would like information about traveling Maryland's Scenic Byways.

Eric Beckett
Division Chief
Regional and Intermodal Planning Division
MDOT State Highway Administration
707 North Calvert Street
Baltimore, MD 21202

Online: Customer Care Form
Phone: 410-545-5666