Home > Business Center > Long Range Planning > Metropolitan Planning Organizations

Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPO)

Untitled Document

A Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) is a federally mandated and federally funded transportation policy-making organization that is made up of representatives from local government and governmental transportation authorities.  Federal Law requires the formation of an MPO for any Urbanized Area (UZA) with a population greater than 50,000.  Federal funding for transportation projects and programs are channeled through this planning process. Congress created MPOs in order to ensure that existing and future expenditures of governmental funds for transportation projects and programs are based on a continuing, cooperative, and comprehensive (“3‑C”) planning process. 
MPOs are charged with developing a 20-year Long-Range Transportation Plan (LRTP) and a short-term (usually 2 to 6 years) program called the Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) for each of their respective regions.     The seven MPO's that Maryland jurisdictions and agencies are members of are listed below.  The Maryland member jurisdictions follow each individual MPO title (note that some MPO's cover multi-state regions).  The Maryland Department of Transportation is a member of each of the MPO's listed. Click here to view the Maryland MPO Map
National Capital Region Transportation Planning Board (TPB) 

Charles County
Frederick County
Montgomery County
Prince George’s County
City of Bowie
City of College Park
City of Frederick
City of Gaithersburg
City of Greenbelt
City of Rockville
City of Takoma Park

Baltimore Regional Transportation Board (BRTB)

Anne Arundel County
Baltimore County
Carroll County
Harford County
Howard County
Queen Anne’s County
City of Annapolis
City of Baltimore

Cumberland Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (CAMPO)
Allegany County
City of Cumberland
City of Frostburg
Hagerstown/Eastern Panhandle Metropolitan Planning Organization 
Washington County
City of Hagerstown
Wilmington Metropolitan Area Planning Coordinating Council (WILMAPCO)
Cecil County
Salisbury/Wicomico Metropolitan Planning Organization
Wicomico County
City of Fruitland
City of Salisbury
Town of Delmar
Calvert – St. Mary’s Metropolitan Planning Organization
Calvert County
St. Mary's County