Maryland’s Bicycle Helmet Law
Maryland law requires all bicyclists under the age of 16 to wear a bicycle safety helmet when riding on public property. This includes roadways, trails and sidewalks. Some local jurisdictions maintain their own local rules:
- Allegany County – under 16
- Howard County – under 17
- Montgomery County – under 18
- Sykesville MD – all ages (includes adults)
Fitting a Bike Helmet
But it's not enough to simply buy and wear one - you need to make sure it fits properly.
- Put the helmet on your head so it sits evenly between the ears and rests low on your forehead - it should only be about 1-2 finger widths above your eyebrow.
- Put foam pads inside the helmet so it feels comfortable but really snug. Usually, the helmet includes more than one size of foam pads that can be velcroed inside the helmet for a better fit.
- Tighten the chin strap as snugly a possible. Adjust the junction of front and back straps, just under the ears, and secure back strap without putting pressure on the front strap.
Fact: A bicycle helmet reduces the risk of serious head injury by 85 percent. All bicycle riders are encouraged to wear helmets whenever they ride. Maryland law requires riders under the age of 16 years to wear approved helmets when riding.
If you require additional information or need assistance please contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org