Scenic Byways

In 1991, the Federal Highway Administration established the National Scenic Byways Program to recognize notable routes throughout the country based on their archaeological, cultural, historic, natural, recreational, and scenic qualities. Maryland is home to 18 byways, seven of which have earned this national distinction.
BridgeThrough the Maryland Scenic Byways Program, the Maryland Department of Transportation State Highway Administration (MDOT SHA) plans, interprets, promotes, and preserves projects along scenic byways. The program enhances quality of life and community pride, and encourages the responsible management of the State's most significant roads and surrounding environs.
MDOT SHA's Scenic Byway program partners with local communities on Corridor Management Plans (CMPs) to protect the byways.  CMPs are flexible documents designed to change with the community and address tourism, historic preservation, environmental protection, roadway safety and economic development.  A CMP also makes a byway eligible for national byway designation.
See our Scenic Byways Program for examples of completed CMPs and information about the program.
Click here for information about traveling Maryland's Scenic Byways.

Eric Beckett
Division Chief
Regional and Intermodal Planning Division
MDOT State Highway Administration
707 North Calvert Street
Baltimore, MD 21202

Online: Customer Care Form
Phone: 410-545-5666