Problem Solver|Maryland.gov|Online Services|State Agencies|Phone Directory



DEPARTMENT OF ARYLAND TRANSPORTATION

Home

Secretary's Welcome **Contract Opportunities** Employment News / Press Releases Minority/Disadvantaged Business Enterprise Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action Office of Environmental Programs Office of Planning and Capital Programming

Office of Real Estate

Transportation Revenue and

Expenses

Americans with Disabilities and

Senior Citizens

Publications

Commuter Choice Maryland

Telework Partnership with

Employers

Freight

Maryland Motor Carrier Program Other Important Links Site Map

For Immediate Release: April 30, 2010

GOVERNOR O'MALLEY APPOINTS TASK FORCE TO STREAMLINE MARYLAND'S HIGHWAY ACCESS PERMIT PROCESS

22 Statewide Experts To Evaluate Best Practices Around The Nation

ANNAPOLIS, MD (April 30, 2010) - Governor Martin O'Malley today announced the creation of the Highway Access Permit Stakeholder Review Group to streamline the process for granting access permits to connect new developments to Maryland's highways. The Governor has appointed 22 members statewide to bring together expertise from various stakeholders, including local planners, developers and economic development officials. Because the permitting process is critical to growing Maryland's economy, Governor O'Malley has tapped Secretary Christian Johansson of the Maryland Department of Business and Economic Development to chair the new task force.

"Maryland's transportation network is a critical tool for local businesses and an essential driver for the State's economy," said Governor O'Malley. "The Highway Access Permit Process is the key to providing new businesses and developments access to that network. While this process is important to maintaining the safety and operational integrity of our highway system, this new Review Group has been tasked with revamping the process to ensure that it is business-friendly by making it transparent, timely and predictable."

"Our agency doesn't have a monopoly on good ideas," said Transportation Secretary Beverley K. Swaim-Staley. "We want these experts to challenge our assumptions."

The Stakeholder Review Group includes real estate developers, engineers, county planners and economic development officials, as well as representatives from environmental agencies and the Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT). The complete list of appointed members is attached.

"I look forward to leading this Task Force, which will make it easier for businesses to do business in Maryland," said Secretary Johansson. "Providing clear direction and guidance to developers on submission requirements and better coordinating the approval process between all agencies involved will help to grow Maryland's economy and create jobs."

The Stakeholder Review Group will meet four times between May and September 2010 and will provide its final report and recommendations by September 15. The members will identify key steps to make the entire process more efficient. The review will include:

- assessing the current procedures;
- reviewing best practices nationwide;
- · developing recommendations, potentially including new policies, procedures, regulations and
- · legislation; and
- · considering the use of technology, including a web-based tracking system for businesses to track the review process of individual permit applications.

State Highway Access Stakeholder Review Group Members

Chairman: Christian Johansson - Secretary, Maryland Department of Business and Economic Development

Edward Adams, Jr. - Director, Department of Public Works, Baltimore County

Gregory Africa - President, County Engineer Association of Maryland

GOVERNOR O'MALLEY APPOINTS TASK FORCE TO STREAMLINE MARYLAND'S HIGHWAY ACCESS PERMIT PROCESS

Douglas Austin - President, Urban Policy Development, LLC Tom Balentine - Vice President, National Association of Industrial & Office Properties Ramon Benitez - Senior Project Manager, RB Estates, LLC Gregory Bowen - Director, Department of Planning and Zoning, Calvert County Thomas S. "Toby" Bozzuto, Jr. - Executive Vice President, Bozzuto Development Company Glenn Cook - Vice President, The Traffic Group Stuart Foard - Land Development Team, Merritt Properties Kathleen Maloney - Principal, Maloney and Associates, representing of the Home Builders Association of Maryland Kim Morgan - Vice President of Land Development, The Tech Group, Inc. Ken Pensyl - Program Manager, Sediment, Stormwater and Dam Safety, Maryland Department of the Environment Torrence Pierce - Vice President, Frederick Ward & Associates Tom Pilon - Vice President/Development, St. John Properties, Inc. Fern Piret - Director, Department of Planning, Prince George's County John Reardon - Chief Operating Officer, Facchina Development, LLC Elliott Schlanger - Secretary, Department of Information Technology Cole Schnorf - Senior Vice President and Director of Development, Manekin, LLC Andrew J. Scott - Special Assistant to the Secretary, Maryland Department of Transportation Nancy Slepicka - Principal, O'Malley, Miles, Nylen & Gilmore Larry Twele - Director, Department of Economic Development, Carroll County Contacts: Karen Glenn Hood DBED

DBED 410-767-6318 Erin Henson

MDOT 410-865-1028

#

Contact Us| Accessibility|Privacy Notice|Disclaimer

7201 Corporate Center Drive P.O. Box 548, Hanover, Maryland 21076 (410) 865-1000