Baltimore, MD (September 9, 2014) – Working to help local jurisdictions across the State ensure children arrive to and from school safely, Governor Martin O’Malley and Lt. Governor Anthony G. Brown today announced $3.4 million in grants for the Safe Routes to School Program. The funding will go to 16 projects across Maryland to improve the safety of children, kindergarten through eighth grade, who walk or bike to elementary or middle schools. The Safe Routes to School Program is managed by the Maryland State Highway Administration (SHA) using federal Transportation Alternatives Program funds.

“Our commitment to our children’s safety has never been stronger, and this funding will help better protect them as they head to our number-one-in-the-nation schools,” said Governor Martin O’Malley.  “Working together with the leadership of the General Assembly and local jurisdictions, we will build a 21st century transportation infrastructure and improve safety for children who walk or bike to school.”

“With this $3 million investment, we’re continuing to work in partnership with local law enforcement, elected officials, non-profits, and community leaders, and remain committed to helping Maryland’s children get back and forth from school safely,” said Lt. Governor Brown.

The grant money will be used for various projects including: sidewalks, curbs and drainage improvements, Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) ramps, pedestrian countdown signals (displays seconds remaining to cross), signage and multi-use paths.  New bike helmets and bike racks also will be purchased through these grants.  Additionally, funds will be used on educational materials, law enforcement and safety training.

On average, 100 people die each year in pedestrian-related incidents in Maryland. In the past five years, more than 517 pedestrians younger than 16 were struck by motor vehicles in the State.  Safe Routes to School makes biking or walking to school an option for all children, including children with disabilities.  Walking and biking to school promotes healthy lifestyles by encouraging physical activity among children.  Safe Routes to School also reduces traffic, fuel consumption and air pollution near elementary and middle schools.

The grants are awarded annually to local government and non-profit organizations.  A full list of all the awardees is attached.  SHA is committed to improving pedestrian facilities in and around schools to encourage walking and biking.  Please visit Maryland Safe Routes to School Program for more information on the program.

Participating Jurisdictions and Proposed Improvements - FFY 2015

• The Baltimore City Department of Transportation will receive $715,516 for pedestrian education programs as well ADA compliant ramps, crosswalk markings, pedestrian countdown signals and school zone signs at Harford Heights and Hilton elementary school and Tench Tillman Elementary and Middle schools.

• Bike Maryland, Inc. will receive $173,000 for educational programs, clinics and coordinators.

• Calvert County Department of Public Works will receive $30,000 for an ADA compliant connection from the crosswalk at MD 765 to Appeal Elementary on Appeal Lane.

• Carroll County Government will receive $143,000 for an ADA compliant sidewalk from Washington Lane to Kate Wagner Road, 10 ADA ramps and crosswalk markings.

•  The Town of Delmar will receive $221,000 to reconstruct 2,200 linear feet of curb and concrete sidewalk from Delmar Elementary to State Street (MD54) on the east side of Second Street.

• The Town of Federalsburg will receive $49,800 to fund ADA compliant sidewalks with curb and gutter, inlet and drainage pipe, and two ADA compliant ramps from the Federalsburg Elementary School parking lot to the corner of University and Railroad avenues.

• The Town of Forest Heights will receive $211,000 for ADA compliant sidewalks and ramps along North Huron Drive at Seneca Drive and 150 feet of walking/bike path connection from North Huron Drive to the asphalt path on the Forest Heights Elementary School grounds.

• The City of Frostburg will receive $61,400 for ADA compliant sidewalks, ramps and crossings.

• The City of Hagerstown will receive $375,000 for ADA complaint sidewalks and ramps, crosswalk and countdown pedestrian signals at Bester and Salem Avenue elementary schools.

• Harford County Government will receive $69,300 for Emmorton Elementary School educational materials and to buy bicycle racks and for Southhampton Middle School for ADA compliant sidewalks and ramps, commercial driveway crossings, and signage and crosswalk markings.

• Pocomoke City Government will receive $56,021 for ADA compliant sidewalks and curb installation along 8th Street from the Pocomoke Middle School to Cedar Street and along Cedar Street from 8th Street to 10th Street.

• Prince George’s County Government will receive $677,993 to fund pedestrian improvements at Concord Elementary and Francis Scott Key Elementary schools such as ADA complaint sidewalks and ramps, upgraded traffic signals, two pedestrian countdown signals and upgraded crosswalks.  This money will also be used at Longfield Elementary School to construct new sidewalk, centerline medians and ADA complaint sidewalks, ramps and crosswalks.

• Queen Anne’s County Public Schools will receive $22,310 for ADA complaint sidewalks behind Bayside Elementary School to connect the cross island trail and in front of Sudlersville Elementary School and to purchase 10 bike racks.

• The City of Rockville will receive $269,122 for ADA compliant sidewalk improvements along Harrison Street near Beall Elementary School.

• The Town of St. Michaels will receive $196,800 for ADA complaint sidewalks, ramps, curb and gutter, and crosswalk at St. Michaels Elementary School; as well as developing a safe biking and walking route map, bicycle training brochures, and purchase of  bike helmets.

• The Town of Takoma Park will receive $152,377 for ADA sidewalks and ramps, crosswalk markings, and coordinators to conduct community outreach regarding construction projects.